To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

11/28/2005 3:28 PM ET
A's agree to terms with free agent Esteban Loaiza
Three-year deal includes option for 2009
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pageemail this page

OAKLAND, Calif. -- The Oakland A's today announced that they have agreed to terms with right-handed pitcher Esteban Loaiza on a three-year contract through 2008 with a club option for 2009.

Loaiza was 12-10 with a 3.77 ERA in 34 games, all starts, with Washington in 2005. He struck out 173 and walked just 55 in 217.0 innings. After starting the year 1-4 with a 3.61 ERA in 11 starts over the first two months of the season, Loaiza went 11-6 with a 3.86 ERA in 23 starts after June 1. The right-handed Loaiza finished second on the Nationals in wins, innings pitched and strikeouts and his games started tied for eighth most in the National League.

An 11-year Major League veteran, Loaiza has a 112-99 career record and a 4.60 ERA in 334 games, 297 starts. His 112 wins are second most in ML history by a Mexican-born pitcher to Fernando Valenzuela's 173. He has won 10 or more games six times in his career, including a career high 21 in 2003 with the Chicago White Sox when he finished second in AL Cy Young balloting. Loaiza, who turns 34 on December 31, has played for Pittsburgh (1995-98), Texas (1998-2000), Toronto (2000-02), the Chicago White Sox (2003-04), the New York Yankees (2004) and Washington (2005) in his career. He was named to the AL All-Star Team in 2003 and 2004 and started the Midsummer Classic in Chicago in 2003.

The A's now have eight players on their 40-man roster under contract beyond the 2006 season, including Eric Chavez (2010, club option 2011), Bobby Crosby (2009), Rich Harden (2008, club option 2009), Dan Haren (2009, club option 2010), Jason Kendall (2007), Mark Kotsay (2008), Loaiza (2008, club option 2009) and Jay Witasick (2007, club option 2008).

print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pageemail this page