8/30/2014 12:51 A.M. ET
Angels lose challenge on Sogard's bunt hit
Pujols says he applies tag after high throw from Beckham, but call stands
By Matthew DeFranks / MLB.com
ANAHEIM -- A's shortstop Eric Sogard was ruled safe at first base in the seventh inning on Friday night and after the Angels challenged, replay officials ruled that the call stands.
With two outs and nobody on, Sogard pushed a bunt down the third-base line, where Gordon Beckham barehanded the ball and fired a throw across his body to Albert Pujols at first. Beckham's throw sailed high and into foul territory and forced Pujols to jump off the base to snare the throw.
Pujols then reached around his back in an attempt to tag Sogard but didn't appear to ever touch the A's shortstop.
One pitch later, Craig Gentry rocketed a line drive right at Beckham that ended the inning with the Angels leading, 3-0.
Matthew DeFranks is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.